Altarum Institute's Center for Sustainable Health Spending has as its vision statement: Guide the transition of the United States to sustainable health spending growth by tracking spending, analyzing solutions, and advocating for meaningful change. Altarum believes that achieving sustainable growth in health spending is a critical systems issue. To assist it in realizing this vision, the Center has formed a National Advisory Committee drawn from health care leaders and experts in health policy and health economics. The charge of the committee is:

  1. Guiding the Center research activities and enhancing the quality/relevance of the products;
  2. Developing potential collegial and collaborative opportunities;
  3. Assisting the Center in securing funding opportunities (subset of members); and
  4. Helping the Center to publicize its work and develop an effective communications strategy.


National Advisory Committee Membership

Tom E. Getzen, Ph.D., Chair
Executive Director, International Health Economics Association
Professor Emeritus of Risk
Temple University

Ana Aizcorbe, Ph.D.
Senior Research Economist
U.S. Bureau of Economic Analysis, Washington, DC

Joseph Antos, Ph.D.
Resident Scholar
Wilson H. Taylor Scholar in Health Care and Retirement Policy
American Enterprise Institute

Linda T. Bilheimer, Ph.D.
Assistant Director for Health and Human Resources
Congressional Budget Office

CSHS mourns the passing of Linda Bilheimer, who died on November 11, 2016 from cancer. Linda was a consummate professional whose thoughtful and respected analyses informed national health policy, and who generously shared her time and expertise with us and many others. She will be greatly missed.

Ceci Connolly
President & CEO
Alliance of Community Health Plans (ACHP)

Ezekiel J. Emanuel, MD, Ph.D.
Vice Provost and Levy University Professor
University of Pennsylvania
Center for Bioethics

Paul Ginsburg, Ph.D.
Norman Topping Chair in Medicine & Public Policy
Professor of the Practice of Health Policy & Management, Price School of Public Policy
University of Southern California

Ziad R. Haydar, MD, MBA
Chief Medical Officer
Ascension Health

Karen Ignagni
President and Chief Executive Officer

David Lansky, Ph.D.
President & Chief Executive Officer            
Pacific Business Group on Health          

Len M. Nichols, Ph.D.
Director of the Center for Health Policy Research and Ethics
Professor of Health Policy
College of Health and Human Services
George Mason University

Michael J. O'Grady, Ph.D.
Senior Fellow
NORC at the University of Chicago

Uwe E. Reinhardt
James Madison Professor of Political Economy
Professor of Economics and Public Affairs at Woodrow Wilson School
of Public and International Affairs at Princeton University

Jon Skinner, Ph.D.
John Sloan Dickey Professor, Department of Economics
Dartmouth College

Gene Steuerle, Ph.D.
Institute Fellow and Richard B. Fisher Chair
The Urban Institute

Judith R. Lave, Ph.D.*
Professor of Economics
Graduate School of Public Health
University of Pittsburgh

* Denotes National Advisory Committee Alumni status